Text Size:

The West Virginia Board of Accountancy filed a Notice of Public Comment with the West Virginia Secretary of State's Office on May 10, 2023.   

The Board has proposed a Legislative Rule change to its Series 1 Rule - Board of Accountancy Board Rules and Rules of Professional Conduct.  The amendment increases the length of time for which credit for any CPA exam test sections passed are valid from 18 months to 30 months from the actual date of notification of passing score results.  The proposed rule change provides that once a candidate has successfully passed one section of the Exam, they will then be provided with a rolling 30-month period to pass the remaining three sections of the Exam.  This change allows for more flexibility to those seeking licensure as a CPA.

On April 21, 2023, The Uniform Accountancy Act (UAA) Model Rules adopted the amendment pertaining to the Uniform CPA Examination (Exam), increasing the conditional credit from 18 months to 30 months. 

The Comment Period ends on Friday, June 30, 2023, at 5:00 pm.  You may file your written comments with the Board at:

Email:  Kristi.A.Justice@wv.gov or

West Virginia Board of Accountancy

405 Capitol Street, Suite 908

Charleston, WV 25301                                         

 The Proposed Rule is available on the web site at:  Proposed Rule Changes 

 The strikethrough language is proposed to be eliminated and the underline areas will be included in the Series 1 Rule.   If you have questions, please contact the Board office at the email address above or by phone at (304) 558-3557.

Resources Updated: 4/12/2024 2:44:22 PM
Page Updated: 5/16/2023 11:04:35 AM